Upul Tharanga to captain Sri Lanka in Zimbabwe tri-series

Upul Tharanga has been named stand-in skipper for the upcoming One-Day International (ODI) tri-series, featuring Zimbabwe and West Indies, the national selectors announced on Saturday (November 5). The seven-match tournament is scheduled to begin on November 14.

The decision was taken due to the absence of regular captain Angelo Mathews and vice-captain Dinesh Chandimal. Kusal Janith Perera has now been appointed Tharangas deputy in the 15-man squad.

While Mathews pulled out of the tour after MRI scans revealed multiple leg injuries, Chandimal was hopeful of playing the ODI-leg of the Zimbabwe tour after undergoing a surgery for a thumb injury. There were reports of him regaining full fitness but it has now been confirmed that he will not be part of the limited-overs team.

Asela Gunaratne and Lahiru Kumara - who made their debut in the first Test - have earned a maiden call-up for the ODI squad, while Shehan Jayasuriya, Nuwan Kulasekara and Jeffrey Vandersay have been recalled.

Sri Lanka squad: Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera (w & v/c), Niroshan Dickwella, Upul Tharanga (c), Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dasun Shanaka, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan, Jeffrey Vandersay

Upul Tharanga to captain Sri Lanka in Zimbabwe tri-series